Running time:
1 part by 40 minutes; 2 part by 30 minutes
2 May 2022 Monday 18.00 Grand hall
18.00 Grand hall

Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra
Conductor – Timur Zangiev
Varvara Koutouzova, piano

Change of conductor

Timur Zangiev was born in 1994. He began to study music at the age of three, and at the age of seven he conducted the Symphony Orchestra of the Vladikavkaz Philharmonic for the first time. In 2011 he entered the Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatoire (class of Gennady Rozhdestvensky), already having experience of appearing with Russia's leading orchestras, among them the Mariinsky Orchestra. Since 2012 he has been a staff conductor with the Stanislavsky and Nemirovich-Danchenko Moscow Music Theatre. Conducts such operas as Carmen by Bizet, Manon by Massenet, Jenůfa by Janáček, Otello by Verdi, Eugene Onegin by Tchaikovsky, Il barbiere di Siviglia by Rossini. For the premiere of Stravinsky’s The Rake’s Progress in 2019 Mr. Zangiev was nominated for the Russian National Theatre Award Golden Mask as Best Opera Conductor in the season 2019/20.

Varvara Koutouzova was born in 2003 in Arkhangelsk. Student at the Gnessin State Musical College (class of Mikhail Khokhlov) since 2019. Having first appeared with an orchestra at the age of 6, and given her first recital at 8, Varvara Kutuzova now performs in Moscow's major venues and tours Russia, Kazakhstan, Armenia, Europe, Mexico, Brazil, China, and the U.S. She has been a regular guest of several festivals, including Denis Matsuev's Stars on the Baikal, Christmas Meetings, Crescendo, festivals in Tyumen and Voronezh, as well as in France, Portugal, Turkey, and Switzerland. She has appeared under the baton of Vladimir Spivakov, Vladimir Fedoseev, and other conductors. Varvara Kutuzova has won numerous international competitions, such as Prima Artists in New York (2011, 1st Prize), Artobolevskaya Competition in Moscow (2012, 2nd Prize), Astana Piano Passion in Kazakhstan (2013, 1st Prize), online competitions in Mexico and Serbia (2013, 2014, Grand Prix), Grand Piano Competition in Moscow (2016), Nota Bene! in St. Petersburg (2017, 1st Prize) etc.

Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1930.  Until the dissolution of the Soviet Union, the Orchestra was the official orchestra of the Soviet Radio Network. In 1993, the Orchestra was renamed by the decree of the Russian Ministry of Culture and became Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra of Moscow Radio.  Awarding the Orchestra the name of this great Russian composer was recognition of its role in promoting much of the music written by Tchaikovsky. The Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra of Moscow Radio traditionally participates in the legendary international Tchaikovsky Competition and also in the musical evenings which take place in the museums of Peter Tchaikovsky in Klin and Votkinsk.  The Orchestra has given premieres of the new works of such prominent composers as Shostakovich, Khachaturian, Miaskovsky, Prokofiev, Gliere, Sviridov, Boris Tchaikovsky and Gubaidulina. The Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra is a frequent participant in numerous festivals. For nearly 40 years, Vladimir Fedoseyev has led the Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra of Moscow Radio in the tradition of his predecessors.  His interpretations are famous for their depth, artistic passion and great sensitivity for the national character of Russian music.