Efrem Podgaits  “I am Composer”, series of concerts
Running time:
2 parts by 50 minutes


Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
The Four Seasons, concertos for violin, strings and basso continuo, ор. 8

Efrem Podgaits (born in 1949)
Three pieces from The Time Pendulum suite for chamber orchestra:
Time Pendulum
Prophetic Sadness

The Four Seasons in Moscow, concerto for violin and chamber orchestra
Dedicated to Antonio Vivaldi

The programme is subject to change

23 November 2019 Saturday 15.00 Small Hall
15.00 Small Hall

Efrem Podgaits
“I am Composer!”, series of concerts

Orchestra of the Kolobov Novaya Opera Theatre of Moscow
Conductor – Andrey Lebedev

Buy ticket
Shopping Basket
Soloist – Ivan Pochekin, violin

Concert series “I am a Composer” introduce the works of contemporary and classical composers to children and their parents and teach them how to listen to and understand the language of music.

The protagonist and author of each concert is one of the Russian contemporary composers who designs the programme, which comprises his/her own opuses and favourite music of past centuries.

They will describe the work of a composer in an interview with the series’ curator and host, culturologist Anna Genina. 

Efrem Podgaits will present pieces from his suite for a chamber orchestra “The Time Pendulum” and “The Four Seasons in Moscow” concerto for violin and orchestra. This new work is dedicated to Antonio Vivaldi whose famous “The Four Seasons” cycle is included in the concert’s programme as well.
Podgaits is one of the most interesting and significant contemporary Russian composers. He also is an educator and public activist. Professor Podgaits serves as the Head of Composition Department of Ippolitov-Ivanov State Musical Pedagogical Institute. He is a member of Managing Board of the Moscow Union of Composers.

Podgaits works include ballet “Moydodyr”, 13 operas, three symphonies, two concertos for mix choir, and 26 concertos for various instruments with orchestra. He keeps focussing on children music (cantatas “How to Draw a Bird”, “Moon Svirel”, and “Poetry of the Earth”, opera-cantata “Black Whirlpool”, concerto for choir and piano “The Four Seasons”, “Ode to the Greek Vase”, and “Missa Veris”).

Podgaits’ music has been performed at musical festivals and competitions in Russia and abroad (in the UK, Turkey, Hungary, Switzerland Italy, France, the USA, Japan, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Ukraine, Belarus, Tajikistan) by major musicians including Mstislav Rostropovich, Valery Polyansky, Vassily Sinaisky, Vladimir Jurowski, Yuri Bashmet, and Friedrich Lips.

You can ask your questions to Efrem Podgaits in advance at icomposer@unioncomposers.ru

Composer will answer the most interesting questions during the concert.

“Pure tone, wide spectrum of expressions, precise articulation and intonation”, such characteristics one may read in the reviews of the performance of Ivan Pochekin, one of the most brilliant young violinist. He will perform with the orchestra of the Kolobov Novaya Opera Theatre of Moscow, directed by Andrey Lebedev (Novaya Opera conductor, conductor of the symphony orchestra of the Gnessin State Musical College, nominee for The Golden Mask National Theatre Award nominee for opera conductors (2016) and member of The Golden Mask judges committee in 2016–2017). 

The event is organized by The all-Russia public organization “Union of Composers of Russia”
TIN 7710283130
Address: 125009, Moscow, Bryusov per., 8/10, bldg 2
This concert is not included in #зарядисьмузыкой (get charged by music) discount programme of the Moscow Concert Hall “Zaryadye”.