Running time:
60 minutes, no break
18 April 2021 Sunday 20.00 Grand hall
20.00 Grand hall

Shostakovich. Symphony №4 NFOR. Conductor – Andrey Boreyko

A series of concerts for the 115th anniversary of Shostakovich opens at the Zaryadye Hall. Shostakovich's 15 symphonies will be performed from February 17 to December 24, 2021.

For the first time, capital and regional orchestras will take part in a large-scale project: the Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra, the State Academic Symphony Orchestra of Russia “Evgeny Svetlanov”, the National Symphony Orchestra of Russia, the Russian National Orchestra, Persimfans, Moscow Soloists and others under the baton of the conductors, such as Vladimir Fedoseev, Dmitry Korchak, Vasily Petrenko, Vladimir Spivakov, Mikhail Pletnev, Pierre Blaise (France), Dmitry Liss, Andrey Boreiko, Yuri Bashmet, Daniil Raiskin.  

Symphony No. 4. The first sketches of the Fourth Symphony appeared as early as 1934, but Shostakovich finished it only two years later. It was planned to perform the symphony in 1936 – the orchestra of the Leningrad Philharmonic under the direction of Stidri had already begun rehearsals, but the premiere was canceled for unknown reasons. It was performed for the first time almost 30 years later, in the Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory. Kirill Kondrashin conducted. The influence of Mahler, Shostakovich's favorite composer, is especially strongly felt in the music of the symphony. It also affected the monumentality of the form, the mixture of “low” and “high” genres, the expression of the musical language.

Before the concert in the Chamber hall at 19.00 there will be a lecture “Conversation about Shostakovich”.
Andrey Boreiko

The entrance to the “Conversation about Shostakovich” is carried out after registration on the site. To register, you must have a ticket for the evening concert on the same day.

Since many things taken for granted from the understanding of Shostakovich's music go away with the generation for which this music was written, a commentary on each concert becomes necessary. For this purpose, the cycle “Conversation about Shostakovich” has been created: an hour before each concert in the Chamber hall of Zaryadye musicians, journalists and musicologists will tell about the composer's symphonies:

Pyotr Aidou and Grigory Krotenko (No. 1 and No. 2)
Julia Bederova (No. 8 and No. 15)
Levon Akopyan (No. 11, No. 13 and No. 14 - about the latter together with Yuri Bashmet)
Dina Kirnarskaya (No. 6 and No. 10)
Varvara Turova and Alexey Kurbatov (No. 5)
Joseph Raiskin (No. 7)
Olga Digonskaya (No. 9 and No. 12)
Andrey Boreiko (No. 4)
Joseph Raiskin and Daniil Raiskin (No. 3)