“The Tsar's Bride”, opera by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Running time:
2 parts by 45 minutes

The programme is subject to change

11 September 2019 Wednesday 19.00 Grand Hall
19.00 Grand Hall

“The Tsar's Bride”, opera by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov

Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra
Conductor – Vladimir Fedoseyev

2019 marks 175th anniversary of the birth of great Russian composer Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. Brilliant opera composer, public figure, educator and publisher… A professional musician with vivid talent, he was carefully saving folk music, and we still owe that to him. It was him who became teacher of many Russian composers of the next generation. And it was his music that laid foundation for development of Russian music culture.

Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra has an unusually wide repertoire. But it’s the great Russian classics that define the Orchestra’s style. And for the tribute to Rimsky-Korsakov Vladimir Fedoseyev, the art director and conductor, chose "The Tsar's Bride". It’s a late work of the master, the ninth opera of his, one of the historical pictures. 

Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1930. It is the first symphony orchestra of Russian radio. Famous composer Georgy Sviridov praised the orchestra. The ensemble has been entrusted with the premiere performances of works by Nikolai Myaskovsky, Sergei Prokofiev, Aram Khachaturian, Georgy Sviridov, Boris Tchaikovsky, and Dmitry Shostakovich.

Its high international standing is the result of collaboration with such outstanding Russian conductors as Alexander Orlov, Nikolai Golovanov, Alexander Gauk and Gennady Rozhdestvensky. Vladimir Fedoseyev has been the Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of the Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra Ever since 1974.

Outstanding soloists of the past and present to have appeared with the Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra include Sviatoslav Richter, David Oistrakh, Antonina Nezhdanova, Sergei Lemeshev, Irina Arkhipova, Luciano Pavarotti, Nicolai Ghiaurov, Mirella Freni, Viktor Tretyakov, Pinchas Zukerman, Yuri Bashmet, Oleg Maisenberg, Elisabeth Leonskaja and Alexander Kniazev. In 1993 the orchestra was renamed in honour of Pyotr Tchaikovsky. Some historical recordings of the Orchestra were released by such labels as Sony, JVC, Philips, Warner Classics, and Melodiya. In addition to performances at major venues throughout the world, the ensemble continues its active educational programme.