“Ocean of Sounds”  Persymphans
Running time:
1 part by 45 minutes, 2 part by 50 minutes


“The Rhinegold” ouverture

“La mer”. Three symphonic sketches for orchestra

“Rain Tree”, for three percussion instruments

“Atlantic Crossing”
Concerto №2 for piano and orchestra
Russian premiere

John Luther Adams
“Dark Waves”
For orchestra and electronic sounds
Russian premiere

The programme is subject to change

7 March 2020 Saturday 19.00 Grand Hall
19.00 Grand Hall

“Ocean of Sounds”  

The first symphony collective without conductor
On stage they sit in circle, face to face, with their backs to the audience. The stage lacks a podium for conductor. There’s actually no conductor at all, for all the musicians has equally important role, and each and every one is a virtuoso soloist. 

Modern Persymphans, recreated in 2008 by pianist and composer Pyotr Aidou, is a hair to the legendary conductor-free ensemble of Mossovet (then the City Council). The name Persymphans is kind of a usual Soviet-style abbreviation of Perviy Symphonicheskiy Ansambl’ (First Symphoniс Ensemble). The original Persymphans was founded in just a couple of years after the October Revolution, and it’s main idea perfectly matched the innovative ideas of the time: liberty, equality, fraternity. That’s why the lack of conductor is the keystone of the orchestra, and that’s why Persymphans is still considered as one of the most avant-garde bands of all times.

Persimfans XXI is not an exact copy of that of 1920’s, but it does follow its predecessor’s steps. It rejects any conductor’s monocracy, for the band itself is the “collective leader”. As for that bizzare sitting in circle face to face to each other, -- the musicians establish constant visual contact with each other while on stage. But the most important thing is that each and every Persimfans concert gives a rare opportunity to listen to either classic pieces or real music rarities, including composers of early 20th century.