The soloists of Pratum Integrum
Running time:
2 parts by 60 minutes


String Quartet in D minor, K. 173
Quartet for flute and strings in D major, K. 285
Adagio and Fuga for string quartet in С minor, K. 546
Quartet for flute and strings in C major, K. Anh. 171 (K. 285b)
19 November 2018 Monday 19.00 Chamber hall
19.00 Chamber hall

The soloists of Pratum Integrum

Mozart’s string and flute quartettes
On period instruments
Sergey Filchenko, violin
Natalya Kosareva, violin
Sergey Tishchenko, viola
Pavel Serbin, cello
Olga Ivusheikova, flute

The early XVIII century saw the heyday of quartet as a genre. That time quartet has many facets, either of a fad or a serious heartfelt piece for music aficionados. All in all, the genre of quartet was regarded as “home music” written mainly for amateur musicians. Those oevres were in great demand among either amateurs, or professional musicians. Mozart’s quartets written for different purposes differs greatly, and you can grasp it on the 19th of November.
The composer’s flute ensembles, 3 of which were requested by the Dutch surgeon and amateur flautist Ferdinand Dejean, are fine and charming. Quartet K.285 is famous by its slow part, which Albert Einstein considered one of the most beautiful flute solos ever written. While Bach- and Handel-influenced string quartets K.173 and K.546 – dramatic, minor-key, and polyphonic – look nothing like bagatelles – they are undoubtedly pieces for connoisseurs.
Mozart’s ensembles are the feature of Pratum Integrum, the only Russia orchestra with the full set of historic instruments: strings, wind, and percussion, with all the instruments made in the 18th to 19th centuries, or copied from period examples. The name of the band is Latin for “unmown meadow”, and it refers to their broad-ranging repertoire from the Baroque and Classical periods, less known even today. Founded 15 years ago in Moscow, the unusual orchestra quickly gained recognition for its hurricane tempos and vivid interpretation. And to this day Pratum Integrum carefully recreate the period’s music, using only original treatises, primary sources, and eye-witness accounts by contemporaries.
The leading musicians of the orchestra, including the music director Pavel Serbin (cello), concertmaster Sergey Filchenko, and flautist Olga Ivusheikova, will be on stage this night.