Running time:
1 part by 30 minutes, 2 part by 40 minutes


String Sextet in D minor "Souvenir de Florence"

“Verklärte Nacht” (“Transfigured Night”)

The programme is subject to change

9 October 2019 Wednesday 19.00 Small Hall
19.00 Small Hall

Two String Sextets

Andrey Baranov, violin; Rodion Petrov, violin; Daniel Austrich, violin;
Fedor Belugin, viola
Alexey Zhilin, cello; Alexander Buzlov, cello  

The David Oistrakh String Quartet is a unique ensemble, for it features four of today’s most outstanding Russian musicians, all soloists in their own right. In 2012 the family of the legendary 20th century violinist honoured the quartet with his name.

The Quartet spent two last years touring successfully Japan and Hong-Kong (with Eliso Virsaladze), performing at the Russian music festival in Columbia, international festival of quartets in Lisbon, “Prague Spring” festival, Paris Philharmonic, as well as throughout Russia. Tchaikovsky dedicated his "Souvenir de Florence" (“Florence Remembered”) to the place he felt special affection for. In the Sextet, the composer fused his favourite folk motives, Russian and Italian, and he has worked out each instrument’s part so masterfully that together the six rich voices sound like a full orchestra. 

Arnold Schoenberg, the 20th-century revolutionary and later inventor of the twelve tone technique, is perhaps best known among audiences for his early tonal work “Verklärte Nacht” (“Transfigured Night”). He wrote it in 1899, in the age of 24.